Science City

University Salzburg, non-university research institutions and Techno-Z together form the Science City Salzburg.

Opened 2017: University department Chemistry and Physics of Materials

Techno-Z houses three University departments: Computer Sciences, Geoinformatics, Human-Computer Interaction

Salzburg University

Science City overview: research institutions

Science and TEchnology hub

Techno-Z with its 150 tech oriented companies is part of Salzburgs Science City. The Science City, a district development project in Itzling, started in 2017. Several faculties of Universität Salzburg are already housed at Techno-Z Salzburg, some are adjoining.

Computer Sciences, Geoinformatics Z_GIS and the Center for Human-Computer Interaction and the regional research company Salzburg Research are right at the Techno-Z campus. Next to Techno-Z, the Faculty of Chemistry and Physics of Materials was opened in 2017. 

The Science City research institutions foster cooperation amongst organisations and with universities and businesses and generate synergies via scientific events. Together they provide important impulses for the ICT region of Salzburg. The various institutions are working closely together for projects, benefiting from the technical and digital expertise and the dynamics of the people who are researching and working here.

Research Institutions within the Science City 

Salzburg University:

Non-university research:


Map Techno-Z & Science City

Download Map Techno-Z & Science City

Externer Inhalt

Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mir externe Inhalte angezeigt werden. Damit können personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt werden. Mehr dazu in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.